EAST Executive Committee

Primary governance of the Eastern Academic Scholars’ Trust (EAST) is provided by the Executive Committee (EC). The EC includes nine members who represent the diverse perspectives of EAST based on the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education. All of the EC members are elected by the membership to serve 3-year terms.

To support the work of EAST, the Executive Committee has appointed a number of Working Groups to oversee the initial collection analysis, retention modeling, and validation work as well as more recent work on facilitating inter-library loan across the membership and registration of EAST commitments in national databases such as the Print Archive Preservation Registry (PAPR) and the OCLC WorldCat database.

For more information on the role of the Executive Committee and Working Groups, please see the EAST General Governance document.


EAST Operations Committee

The EAST Operations Committee (OC) reports to the Executive Committee and is responsible for recommending policies and workflows around the operational use of EAST retention commitments within the member libraries. The OC works closely with the EAST Project Team to address operational issues that arise from the membership. Any policy or procedural recommendations from the OC require approval by the Executive Committee prior to implementation. 

In addition to this standing committee, each EAST member has appointed an Operational Contact to implement the policies and procedures developed by the Operations Committee.


Page last updated on February 24th, 2021.