Operations Committee

The EAST Operations Committee (OC) is charged by the Executive Committee to focus on the operational procedures associated with being an EAST member. These range from issues relating to the scope of titles to be included in analysis work, issues relating to reallocation of titles for which a library can no longer commit to retain, and resources sharing related issues. The expertise on the OC is expected to include operational staff at EAST libraries with experience of work in collections, technical services (particularly cataloging and metadata services), systems and ILL. The membership of the OC is appointed by the Executive Committee based on the results of nominations from elections by the EAST Voting Members. The OC works closely with the EAST Program Team and may recommend the appointment of ad hoc Working Groups to address specific policy or procedural issues.

The OC is a standing committee and includes 6 – 10 members with representation from both Retention Partner institutions as well as across the diversity of the EAST membership based on type of institution, size of library collection, etc. One seat is held for a member of the Resource Sharing Working Group. As EAST grows the committee composition requirements change to reflect our broader geography and diversity of institutions.

The standing Operations Committee has two year terms, which expire at the end of the calendar year.  Current members are:

Alison ArmstrongRadford University2025Doctoral Institutions / Consortia Retention Partner
Richard BleilerUniversity of Connecticut2024Doctoral Institutions
Liz BodianBrandeis University2024Doctoral Institutions
Julie KaneWashington and Lee2025Baccalaureate Institutions
Missy LaythamLoyola Notre Dame University2025Serials & Journals Retention Partners / Master’s Colleges & Universities: Larger Programs
Rachel ManningMiddlebury College2025ILL Working Group
John MyersUnion College2025Baccalaureate Institutions
Tabby PursleyUniversity of Florida2024Doctoral Institutions
Tiffany RussellNorth Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University2025Doctoral Institutions
Steve SmithUMass Boston2025Doctoral Institutions


Prior to the standing Operations Committee, the Executive Committee approved appointment of an interim Operations Committee, which met between October 2016 and June 2017. Its membership was:

  • Steve Bischof, University of Massachusetts – Amherst and Five Colleges
  • Berry Chamness, Bryn Mawr College
  • Charles Getchell, Saint Anselm College
  • Debbie Gomes, Elms College
  • Steve Smith, Boston University
  • Matthew Revitt and Sara Amato, EAST, also participated ex officio

Previous OC members include:

  • Beth Bohstedt, Hamilton College
  • Jennifer Fairall, Siena College
  • Terese Heidenwolf, Lafayette College
  • Eric Love, Florida State University
  • R.C. Miessler, Gettysburg College
  • Ray Schmidt, Wellesley College
  • Gwen Verkuilen-Chevalier, St. Anselm College


Page last updated: September 4th, 2023